WINDY NIGHT

stormy tree

 

Woken by a scream

As of you I dreamed

You yelled for me, it seemed,

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

Blowy autumn attitudes

Skipped across the latitudes

Whispering blustery platitudes,

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

Against the weeping pane

The splattering of rain

Beat staccatos of your name,

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

Salty spray sang out to me,

Lusty storms across the sea

Crashed the surf-scuffed scree

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

Naked branches swayed

Their tempestuous ballet

Words were whipped away

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

I thought I heard you call

From your distant shore

Through the midnight squall,

(Did I hear your voice or was it just the wind?).

 

Clambering from my sleepy daze,

An after-dreaming haze

The shutter bangs and sways:

 

(I didn’t hear your voice.  It was just the wind).

 

© Alex Barton

 

About Alex Barton

www.newsrealpoetry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WINDY NIGHT

  1. ocksblog says:

    Good work, I think it could work well spoken.
    The rhymes are heavy but broken up by the repeated refrain, which I think works well.

  2. ocksblog says:

    I like the picture too!

  3. brudberg says:

    Very nice in composition and in content.

  4. Anne says:

    Lovely Gothic feel to this.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

