RECESSIONARY RANT

Savings all gone down the drain

Credit card refused again

Bailiffs knocking at the door

Demand my home and then some more

Pension stolen by the bankers

Theiving, grabbing lot of wankers.

 

No money, house or job: no life

The neighbour’s messing with my wife

A nicer bloke than him by far

But he drives better car

A twenty-twelve four-by-four

Mine’s a hatch-back with two doors.

 

Leave her, divorce her, that’s what I ought’er

But I’m scared she’ll take our daughter.

Since I’ve left the gravy train

Life will never be the same

Our good Lord, He takes the piss

There must be more to life than this?

About Alex Barton

www.newsrealpoetry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RECESSIONARY RANT

  1. shafiqah1 says:

    Reblogged this on shafiqah1 and commented:
    It’s like that moment in a workout video when Richard Simmons screams “Feel the burn, baby!” I think many of us are in your shoes, I know I feel the pressure of empty pockets and an avalanche of bills too…

    • Thanks for liking – yup, times are hard for many people – this poem came to me after listening to a radio talk show of people who had recently lost their jobs – I’m fortunate that none of it applies to me (and also I’m not a man!!) but I do enjoy writing poetry from other’s perspectives.

  2. Jeremy Nathan Marks says:

    I really do appreciate the honesty in this poem. And I mean that with sincerity, not in a bland, off-hand way.

Leave a Reply

